Gaisberg – excursion mountain and local mountain of Salzburg

Experiences, adventures and romantic evenings

Due to its proximity and the brilliant view of and over the city, the 1,287 meter high Gaisberg is one of the local mountains of the city of Salzburg. As a western foothills of the mountains of the Salzkammergut, the excursion mountain is often visited by the inhabitants of Salzburg.

After the mountain is freely accessible in the evening, the Gaisberg can also be visited at sunset and at dusk. The city of Salzburg can be admired with a picnic blanket and panoramic views. Of course, this also applies to early risers and connoisseurs of sunrises 🙂

parasailing Gaisberg CC0 Pixabay

Both hikers and athletes have their fun here, because the mountain is used in summer mainly for activities such as mountain biking, paragliding, slow biking, road cycling and hiking, in winter for cross-country skiing and for ski tours.

Our tip: if the fog is above the city, the Gaisberg is above the sea of fog and the day can still be a beautiful one. Just treat yourself to the WebCam 😉

360 degree panorama on the Gaisberg

The view is breathtaking. On fine days there is a wonderful panoramic view over the city of Salzburg to the adjacent BerchtesgadenerLand in Bavaria. North of the city you can see over the Salzburg Lake District, and in the south on the Göllmassiv and the Tennengebirge.

The most popular hiking tour – Gaisberg

One of the most popular hiking tours is the Gaisberg circular route.
Walking time: 1h 30 minutes for 5.4 kilometers.
Start at Hotel Restaurant Zistelalm

Hang gliders and paragliders

The Gaisberg already has a long tradition for the aviators, whether hang gliders, paragliders, hang gliders or paragliders. From a distance, the colorful spots of the aircraft are already recognizable. At the summit there is a launch pad, all details for interested parties are available at the Fly4Fun Paragliding Club. For the spectators, it’s nice to see how the athletes prepare for the start and then start up / down the mountain slope.

Directions to the Gaisberg

by car: toll-free road!
by bus: with the Gaisberg bus 151 there is a direct connection from the Mirabellplatz in Salzburg over the district Gnigl on the Gaisberg.

Gaisberg – Ausflugsberg und Hausberg der Salzburger

Erlebnisse, Abenteuer und romantische Abende

Durch seine Nähe und dem genialen Blick auf und über die Stadtz zählt der 1.287 Meter hohe Gaisberg zu den Hausbergen der Stadt Salzburg. Als westlicher Ausläufer der Berge des Salzkammerguts wird der Ausflugsberg aber vor allem von den Einwohnern Salzburgs gerne besucht.

Nachdem der Berg auch abends frei zugänglich ist, kann der Gaisberg auch bei Sonnenuntergang und bei Einbruch der Dämmerung besucht werden. Mit Picknickdecke und Panoramablick kann die Stadt Salzburg bewundert werden. Natürlich gilt dies auch für Frühaufsteher und Genießer der Sonnenaufgänge 🙂

Paragleiten Gaisberg CC0 Pixabay

Sowohl Ausflügler als auch Sportler haben hier ihre Freude, denn der Berg wird im Sommer vor allem für Aktivitäten wie Mountainbiken, Paragleiten, SlowBiken, Straßenradfahren und Wandern genutzt, im Winter zum Langlaufen und für Skitouren.

Unser Tipp: wenn über der Stadt der Nebel liegt, befindet sich der Gaisberg oberhalb des Nebelmeeres und dadurch kann der Tag trotzdem ein Schöner sein. Einfach sich einen Blick auf die WebCam gönnen 😉

360-Grad Panorama am Gaisberg

Der Ausblick ist atemberaubend. An schönen Tagen gibt es hier einen wunderbaren Rundblick über die Stadt Salzburg bis hinein in das angrenzende BerchtesgadenerLand in Bayern. Nördlich der Stadt blickt man über das Salzburger Seenland, und im Süden auf das Göllmassiv und das Tennengebirge.

Die beliebteste Wandertour – Gaisberg

Einer der beliebtesten Wandertouren ist der Gaisberg-Rundwanderweg.
Gehzeit: 1h 30 Minuten für 5,4 Kilometer.
Start bei Hotel Restaurant Zistelalm

 

Drachenflieger und Paragleiter

Der Gaisberg hat bereits eine lange Tradition für die Flieger, egal ob Drachenflieger, Gleitschirmflieger, Hängegleiter oder Paragleiter. Von weitem sind die bunten Punkte der Fluggeräte bereits erkennbar. Am Gipfel befindet sich eine Startrampe, alle Details für InteressentInnen gibt es beim Fly4Fun-Paragleiterclub. Für die Zuschauer ist es schön anzuschauen, wie sich die SportlerInnen auf den Start vorbereiten und anschließend über den Berghang ab-/aufwärts starten.

Anfahrt zum Gaisberg

mit dem Auto: mautfreie Straße!
mit dem Bus: mit der Gaisberg-Linienbus 151 gibt es eine direkte Verbindung vom Mirabellplatz in Salzburg über den Stadtteil Gnigl auf den Gaisberg.